How to Delete All Your Instagram Content (and why I did just that)

How to Delete All Your Instagram Content Quickly and Easily

  1. Install the "Kantu Browser Automation" extension for Google Chrome
  2. Create a new macro by clicking the "+ Macro" button in the upper left
  3. Switch to "Source View (JSON)"
  4. Paste this code into the JSON field.
  5. {
      "CreationDate": "2018-7-14",
      "Commands": [
        {
          "Command": "open",
          "Target": "https://www.instagram.com/YOURUSERNAMEHERE/",
          "Value": ""
        },
        {
          "Command": "click",
          "Target": "//*[@id=\"react-root\"]/section/main/div/div[3]/article/div[1]/div/div[1]/div[1]/a/div/div[2]",
          "Value": ""
        },
        {
          "Command": "click",
          "Target": "//*[@id=\"react-root\"]/section/main/div/div/article/div[3]/button/span",
          "Value": ""
        },
        {
          "Command": "pause",
          "Target": "250",
          "Value": ""
        },
        {
          "Command": "click",
          "Target": "/html/body/div[5]/div/div/div/div/button[1]",
          "Value": ""
        },
        {
          "Command": "pause",
          "Target": "250",
          "Value": ""
        },
        {
          "Command": "click",
          "Target": "/html/body/div[5]/div/div/div/div[2]/button[1]",
          "Value": ""
        }
      ]
    }
    
  6. Replace the string "YOURUSERNAMEHERE" with your Instagram username.
  7. Save the macro
  8. Hover over the drop-down next to "Play Macro" and choose "Play Loop" (Enter in a value like "500")
  9. Then sit back and watch your content get removed from your Instagram profile.

Why I Deleted All of My Instagram Content

I've been posting less and less over the past few years and I finally decided that my personal Instagram feed was only giving me short-lived gratification and feeding my selfish tendencies.  To help reduce my temptation to post and to start fresh, with the intention of never posting on Instagram again, I decided to delete all of my content. I did backup all of my content locally first, so I had a personal copy of all of my content from the past 5 years.